“THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, MADE IN CHINA”

rugartists

saraaaahhhhh1 (1)

Recently, my work began to integrate the ideas of global politics and global economies.  Especially relative to China, India and the United States, the issues are deep and complicated.  Even though I attempt to approach things with humor, this is more of humor in a dark place.  While sifting through all of the reading, imagery, documentaries and discussions about the various issues surrounding such broad topics, it is important to me to maintain the integrity of the symbols I work with by manipulating their presentation in order to effectively communicate what it is I am trying to say with my thesis.  I created the work, “The United States of China, Made In India.”  It is a 5ft.x7ft. silk area rug, conceived by an artist (me) in the United States of America.  The idea made into a file and sent to the rug making company in India.  China has a profound effect both the Indian and the American economies and their politics.  It is almost as if one cannot exist without the other and they are all intertwined into this pseudo-incest type of relationship.  This is my response.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

