THE OUTLINE: “TRACE”

FullSizeRender (2)FullSizeRender (3)

While studying language, exploring slang, profanity and the effect it has on things in the spoken and symbolic world of communication I came across this fabulous word.  I decided to trace the word trace.  Originally I just outlined the word trace.  I found it funny…I wanted to go deeper.  I then pushed it and thought about the word itself and the language I want it to portray.  I bought a pad of tracing paper.  I printed out the word trace in a font that resembles a stencil.  A stencil is another form of tracing.  I placed the printout in the back of the pad of tracing paper and began to outline the word “TRACE” progressively on each page.  As I did this, similar to my work on the “depletion of identity” where my signature slowly depreciated with each pass on the screen, the original printout of the word began to do the same; the shapes of the text abstracting more and more until the final sheet where the realization is that it looks nothing like the original…even though I traced it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

