THE FUCKIN’ SERIES

FUCKIN SERIES 022FUCKIN SERIES 083FUCKIN SERIES 006

This came from a place of frustration with patriarchal constructs and wanting to blow it out into hilarity.  I seem to touch upon issues that are controbersial (sorry I have a cold) or uncomfortable for people.  It is through the process of creation it becomes deeper for me, relevant.  I am in the process of constructing three-dimensional individual block letters that make up the statement, “Fuck Me.”  The intention is to present them in a corner as stained naked wood letters. While I was making a physical sketch of them I decided it would be best to place them in environments as well.  I ran a list similar to the lists I have seen my mentor Beth with her future projections.  For example in a car, in a bar, a field, in the woods…it is the ideation of sex within our construct.  How exploitative it is…or is it?  Who is it geared towards or against? It is interesting if you type naked into a google image search only images of naked women initially appear.  On another note if you type in man, the initial images are all of white males. I found this interesting.  I thought my own photo series containing the three-dimensional letters constructed with the sentiment, “Fuck Me,” is essentially the same as any magazine ad or television commercial.  Only my letters don’t have to look any particular way to suit the needs of a particular demographic.  I don’t enjoy living within a politically suppressive patriarchal construct.  I feel this is a very intriguing way to explore these themes and expose the larger issue.  I am not saying that I do not enjoy images of females totally naked, I am asking what drives that as a marketing tool, why is the continued exploitation of women in mainstream media tolerated, why not say exactly what you mean with words instead of smoking mirrors of make-up, clothes, heels, or the lack there of, legs spread wide, mouth open inviting, many of these things read, “Fuck Me,” without the physical text there so the question really is…What drives you?  Why?  How did this happen…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to THE FUCKIN’ SERIES

  1. Beth says:

    This week, Sarah, I was having a day of being “stuck in my head”. I found myself in a place of extreme anger at the incredibly unfair restrictions that are placed on us as women in society. What do I mean by that? OK, so a woman gets older. It happens. It’s happening to me. As dad says, it “beats the alternative”. With age comes grey hair. As a woman, we are ‘required’ to dye hair so that the grays don’t show. Gray hair makes you look older. Looking older as a woman is not acceptable. From our 20s we are thrown anti-aging formulas. You MUST use overpriced creams laden with chemicals to prevent wrinkles. Wrinkles make you look old. Again – unacceptable. Men are allowed gray hair and wrinkles. They are considered dignified. Case in point (for me): George Clooney. Gray hair, wrinkles. Sexy. Me . Gray hair (yup, it’s starting to come in). Wrinkles (more than I’d like to admit). I look old. Unacceptable. Women are told they have to paint their faces to look pretty. Why can’t a woman look pretty naturally? This is my long way of saying that I totally get this project. Can’t wait to see more.

Leave a Reply

