SPRAY PAINT CAN SOFT SCULPTURE: Number A

http://flipagram.com/f/KLDyKU5EU5#

This project started early on, conceptually, in an attempt to decontextualize the attachments to Oldenberg when I presented the school lunch project.  It consisted of various soft sculptures, a burger with related toppings, a milk carton and a brain bowl.  They are exhibited identically to the way Oldenberg presented them, on the floor.  The issue is mine was just a burger that was contextualized into today’s standard of the deconstructed burger.  Where you are served the burger and decipher from a selection of toppings, customizing the actual edible burger, all perfect reflections into a much larger issues.  This is a total digression of why I am making the spray paint can or why I even made the lunch in the first place.  I did find people wanted pickles or onions.  I found that just making that smaller burger, the maqette, introduced a discourse larger than I ever imaged possible.  Way bigger than “Patty.”

So, the reason for the can, (as said in the movie, “The Heat,”), it’s supposed to be, “bigger and different.”  My original idea morphed as they all do into a small monster.  It is big like the burger, and soft like Oldenberg’s, however, it is sprays strips of fabric that are attached to a fan housed inside the head of the spritzer.  This item like the “Stool Sample(s),” is a functional piece.  The construction of the can has been similar to the other soft sculptures, except this time we built a structure out of cardboard in order to create stability for the final piece…like bones.  To begin the top of the can, that semi conical shape, I made a huge circle cut it out and cut out the middle.  Then I bent it around and taped it in place and it was still a bit flimsy so I attached patches all around the interior of the structure.  Once completed I reinforced the top edge with tape, this structure is supposed to provide stability to spritzer above housing the fan.  We drilled holes around the edge and ended up whirling the entire structure around the bit of the drill.  After we dissected it from the drill I reconstructed the shape with tape and more cardboard.  I used fiberboard to make platforms.  I made two circles, found the center and made another circle.  We cut the circles out and the middles as well.  In the middle is a hollow cardboard dowel that will create a casing for the extension cord that will also act as the stem between the can and the spritzer.  For the platform attaching itself to the conical shape we drilled holes and sewed the platform to the top of the shape with twine for stability.  The hole in the middle is snug but the structure still slid up and down.  I am using gaskets to remedy this issue.  The spritzer head is important.  It has to be stable, removable, and scale to the bottom and is the reason it is being built first.  So it doesn’t end up looking like a short can with a huge spritzer head.  I have a significant history with measurement.

In order to create the spritzer I measured the circumference of the base of the platform.  Then I measured the fan to create the shape of the spritzer.  I traced out the measurements onto the cardboard, cut it and attached it with tape, leaving the top open.  This is where a Velcro jacket is attached to the coat surrounding the spritzer, so the fan may be removed.  A hole is cut into the cardboard, this is where the fabric will come from, a similar hole is cut into the fabric of the coat and incorporates a gasket within the fabric, for aesthetic and stability.  I used duck cloth it is sturdier than the mishmash of fabrics I used before.  I traced out circles and the length of the shape and I was a bit short so we had to sew on an extra piece.  The cardboard spritzer fits right inside of the coat.  The Velcro top allows easy accessibility into the piece should the fan need attention, it’s a convenience.  Now for the rest…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

